Log in

Foresters for the Future Scholarship Application Period Open Through June 14


LITTLE ROCK — The Arkansas Department of Agriculture’s Forestry Division and the University of Arkansas at Monticello (UAM) are pleased to announce that applications for the Foresters for the Future scholarship are now being accepted. The scholarship will provide $4,000 per semester, for four years, to an incoming freshman pursuing a forestry degree at UAM’s College of Forestry, Agriculture, and Natural Resources.
Applications will be accepted through June 14. Students interested in the scholarship can find more information at uamont.edu/academics/CFANR/forestersforthefuture. html.
“Arkansas forest industries contribute over $6.1 billion to the state’s economy each year, making Arkansas the most forestry dependent of all the southern states,” said State Forester Kyle Cunningham. “This scholarship provides a wonderful opportunity for students to obtain the education and training necessary to support such an impactful industry within the state.”

The scholarship program was established by Act 399 of the 2021 Regular Session of the Arkansas General Assembly. UAM and the Forestry Division hope the scholarship will entice students to pursue forestry as a career.
“The forestry industry is a pillar of Arkansas’s economy that impacts every area of our state,” said Dr. Peggy Doss, UAM Chancellor. “The Foresters for the Future Scholarship will support our efforts to attract and to retain a diverse group of future foresters and to prepare them for a career path that offers extensive job opportunities in the wood products industry.”
"This scholarship is a tremendous opportunity for our students,” said Dr. Michael Blazier, Dean of the UAM College of Forestry, Agriculture, and Natural Resources and Director of the Arkansas Forest Resources Center. “Not only does it provide substantial financial aid to help them study for a career in forestry, but they also get a wide range of internship options for on-the-job learning with the Arkansas Department of Agriculture’s Forestry Division."